The new Apprenticeship Standards

Apprenticeships in England are currently undergoing some changes, one of them is the introduction of the new Apprenticeship Standards.

The qualifications gained through apprenticeships are going to become a lot more job role specific, meaning that apprentices will have a more occupationally recognised qualification.

Currently, apprentices work towards an apprenticeship framework qualification, the framework qualifications are gradually being replaced by the new apprenticeship standards which are specific occupational qualifications that have been created by Trailblazers (groups of industry-specific employers).

There is expected to be around 600-800 new apprenticeship standards coming into place to replace the current 250 frameworks; meaning there will be a lot more apprenticeship options available to apprentices.

What’s different about the new standards?

Apprenticeships as a whole will be operated in a slightly different way. All apprentices will have to undergo an End Point Assessment (EPA) towards the end of their apprenticeship.  The EPA includes a synoptic assessment of the knowledge, skills and behaviour the apprentice4 has learnt and obtained over the course of their apprenticeship.

The main purpose of the EPA is to make sure that the apprentice meets the standards objectives.

Apprentices will only receive their apprenticeship certificate upon successful completion of the EPA.

What Apprenticeship Standards are offered by VQ?

We are moving our delivery across from apprenticeship frameworks to apprenticeship standards and many of our new apprentices are already on these programmes. We are currently offering:

  • Digital Marketer
  • Network Engineer
  • Infrastructure Technician
  • Software Developer
  • Customer Service
  • Leadership & Management

We are hoping that the Business Administration assessment plan will be released shortly. The Business Administration Apprenticeship Standard has been published but until the assessment plan is produced then all training provider will still have to deliver the framework.